top of page
Search

Spearmint Tea: A Natural Remedy for PCOS

Updated: Feb 26, 2021



When I first got diagnosed with PCOS, my doctor prescribed me Metformin and Spironolactone to help reduce my insulin and testosterone levels. I had a really hard time with the idea of being on medication but, I did what was necessary to get my body back on track. However, I promised myself that this would only be temporary. So, I did a lot of research on natural ways to reverse my symptoms.


After a lot of trial and error, I finally found a routine that worked for me and in the summer of 2020, my doctor officially took me off all of my medication. Eating right, getting enough sleep, and taking vitamins were all a part of my new treatment plan. But, one of my simple pleasures in life is drinking tea and I was pleasantly surprised to find that Spearmint tea has a lot of benefits for PCOS.


Spearmint tea is a natural anti-androgen. Hyperandrogenism, or high levels of testosterone, causes many of the distressing symptoms of PCOS such as menstrual irregularities, fertility issues, excess facial & body hair. cystic acne, and weight gain. Drinking 2-3 cups of spearmint tea per day can dramatically improve your symptoms related to excess levels of testosterone.


Spearmint reduces Free Testosterone Levels by 30%, increases Luteinising Hormone, the hormone responsible for ovulation & maintaining a regular cycle, by 30%, and increases Follicle Stimulating Hormone (ensures proper maturation of ovarian follicles) by 15%.


This powerful herbal tea is a wonderful way to manage your symptoms without all of the crazy side effects of medication, and it tastes delicious!


If you've been in treatment for awhile or don't have access to the proper resources, combine this tea with a healthy diet & exercise and I promise you will notice a difference.

Check out my other blog posts for healthy recipes:

Subscribe to my YouTube channel for free, weekly yoga classes:


Sending you all my love & healing energy

-Faith



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page