top of page
Search

My Vegan Hair Care Routine




Since going vegan in 2016, I've been incorporating natural and healthier alternatives into my everyday life. Essential oils have been a wonderful way to replace harmful chemicals out of my routines. I always have a full stash of oils to use for pretty much every aspect of my life. I use them to make cleaning products, for aromatherapy, and in my self-care/beauty routines. I love experimenting with different oils and learning about their beneficial, healing properties.


When it comes to my hair, I can be very picky about particular products that I use. My hair is naturally curly, making it very dry and brittle. Before I got diagnosed with PCOS, my hair was falling out at a rapid rate, and I knew I had to make changes in order to keep my hair strong & healthy.


I've used a wide range of oils in my hair to prevent hair loss, stimulate hair growth, and keep my hair moisturized. Most recently, I've developed a routine that I love, and my hair seems to love it too!


Some of the products that I use are homemade essential oil-based products that keep my hair strong, moisturized, shiny, and healthy. I also use a vegan, cruelty-free shampoo and conditioner that allow me to care for my hair with peace of mind.


Down below I've listed all the products I use, their benefits, and recipes on how to make your own hair care products at home! If you struggle to keep your hair healthy, or you're just looking for safer alternatives, keep reading for tips and tricks to bring life to your hair!


LIST OF PRODUCTS I CURRENTLY USE:

  • HOMEMADE VEGAN CONDITIONING OIL SPRAY: made from jasmine oil, sandalwood oil, & water

  • COCONUT OIL

  • LOVE BEAUTY & PLANET CRUELTY FREE SHAMPOO & CONDITIONER: I love the coconut water & mimosa flower edition for volume and bounty. These products are not tested on animals & contain no silicones, parabens, or dyes. All bottles are also made from 100% recycled plastic.

  • JOJOBA OIL





MY HAIR CARE ROUTINE:


Before I dive into my routine, I have to mention that I only wash my hair once a week. This helps maintain the natural oils in my hair and prevents hair loss. If you wash your hair every day, this actually strips your scalp of its natural oils and causes your scalp to secrete more oils to compensate. In the long run this can actually lead to oilier hair. Washing your hair less can actually improve greasy hair. I also like to use small amounts of arrowroot powder or corn starch in between washes as a dry shampoo. But only apply these products to the roots.


Now let's get into the routine!


  1. Before I wash my hair, I like to treat my hair with a homemade jasmine & sandalwood conditioning oil spray & coconut oil. Jasmine oil has a sweet, floral scent and amazing moisturizing properties that prevent hair breakage and seal in moisture. This promotes softer hair and can tame frizz. Jasmine oil also has antiseptic properties that purify the scalp and removes build up. Sandalwood oil has a grounding and soothing scent & strengthens hair while also adding shine and luster. Coconut oil is an overall wonderful way to restore shine & moisturize the hair without weighing it down.




To start, apply the conditioning oil spray all over your hair, starting with the roots and scalp. Then apply warmed or melted coconut oil to your hair until it's fully saturated, focusing on the ends.

To make the conditioning oil spray at home, here's what you'll need:

  1. 6.5 fluid ounce spray bottle

  2. 10-15 drops jasmine oil (purchased from Amazon)

  3. 10-15 drops sandalwood oil (purchased from Amazon)

  4. water

Add your oils to your spray bottle and fill the rest with water. Shake well before applying!


2. After applying the oil spray & coconut oil, allow the treatment to sit for at least one hour. This will allow the treatment to fully penetrate your hair.


3. After about an hour, take a shower and fully rinse the treatment out before washing. I use the love beauty & planet coconut water and mimosa flower shampoo to wash my hair. You may need to wash your hair twice to ensure all the oils have been washed out. Condition your hair and let the conditioner sit for about 3 minutes before rinsing.


4. After washing your hair, apply the jojoba oil as a conditioning serum. Apply the jojoba oil only on the ends and before combing.


5. Comb your hair and use a t shirt to wrap your hair and remove any excess moisture. You can allow your hair to air dry, or you can immediately style it.




NOTES:

*I purchase all my essential oils off Amazon, and I usually buy a pack that includes several different oils. All oil bottles last me several months. If you're looking to save money, I would definitely recommend browsing on Amazon!

*You certainly don't have to use the same brand of shampoo and conditioner. This is just the brand that I prefer! Use whichever brand that makes the most sense to you!

*This routine is particularly helpful for curly hair but, is still great for all hair types.

*Only use a comb, not a brush, on wet hair. Your hair is very vulnerable to breakage when wet so take extra caution. Start combing at the ends of your hair and work your way up.

*Before applying coconut oil to your hair, I recommend warming it up. You can microwave it for a few seconds or run the bottle under warm water until the oil softens.

*You can use the conditioning oil spray throughout the week to restore your curls or revamp your hair! I also recommend using a dry shampoo in between washes. I like to use arrowroot powder or corn starch at my roots.


Give this routine a try & make it your own!


Stay well & keep shining!


-Faith


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page